Welcome to Jaded Dating

Love Key

Welcome to my blog. Your first question is probably “Why is it called Jaded?” Well, apart from being a clever play on words as my name is Jade, this is a relationship blog and jaded is pretty much how us twenty-something girls (and guys too maybe) feel about the romantic quest. I found this definition of the word:
“Jaded: The end result of having a steady flow of negative experiences, disappointment, and unfulfillment fed into a person where they get to the point where their anger circuits just sort of burn out and they accept disillusionment.”
This is the stories and thoughts of an optimistic bitch (Babe In Total Control of Herself) in a jaded dating world who likes to over analyze and occasionally over reacts (occasionally!).
I know what you’re thinking: Not another dating blog by a twenty-something fashion loving girl who thinks she’s Carrie Bradshaw. A clueless girl on endless bad dates and constantly making bad decisions, along with her single friends: the optimist, the cynical one and the sexually voracious one, all on the same journey…sharing dating stories that everyone wants to read about that right?
Well, yes okay Carrie Bradshaw is my icon and the above is of course the basis of this blog. But along with my own whimsical stories of dating dreams and disasters, I want to take this opportunity to look at WHY us girls over analyze every little man related detail and where our concept of “Mr Right” comes from. I’ve always been interested in the quest for Mr Right, from the story of Cinderella at the age of 5, to being obsessed with the ‘will they won’t they?’ story of Ross and Rachel at the age of 13, discovering Sex and the City at 16, round about the same time I started reading Jane Austen. Aaah Mr Darcy. Then from Higher English to a degree in Drama I discover the beauty of Shakespeare and learned that “All is fair in Love and War.” I continued to lose myself in the love stories from books and TV. I then wrote my undergraduate dissertation based on this obsession: Does 21st century television portray women’s search for Mr Right any differently to 19th century literature?
I wrote this dissertation 3 and a half years ago, before I became the sassy serial dater that I (like to think I am) today. And despite the endless books and articles on feminism, fairy tales, literature, gender and even the somewhat corrupt tales by Angela Carter, I have no idea if life can be a fairytale and  where our Mr Darcy is. Seriously, where is he? Is he going to be the guy in the suit at the bar on a Friday at 6pm? The book worm guy that gets on my bus at 8:30am Monday-Friday? That athletic guy on the treadmill at the gym at 5:30pm? My workplace is huge… maybe he is sitting in an office a floor or two above? Is he really going to be on the notorious ‘Plenty of Fish’? Or what about that random bearded man with the tattoos that liked my selfie on Instagram? As I sit on my tablet playing ‘meet me’ on Plenty of Fish and a version of ‘Hot or Not’ on Tinder, I begin to realize that we have so many different ways to meet men, wither it be socially , randomly or on one of the many social media platforms. Although this can be exhausting and frustrating, this is  pretty damn exciting. Times have changed, online dating isn’t for the desperate, socially awkward anymore. It’s full of fun, attractive, successful singletons. And a date with the 6ft guy, average body type, Aries, guitar playing accountant from the dating site brings us one step closer to finding him than sitting in watching The Notebook with a bottle of wine while imagining Ryan Gosling proposing to you.
As I said before, this blog is not just my dating stories, I will share my dissertation, I will talk about the books that all women should read from ’Pride and Prejudice to ’He’s just not that into you’ and in a fortnight I start a night class at the university called ‘The Science of Attraction’: a psychology course which explores the question: What influences who we are attracted to? Perhaps there is more to it than I think? I have 5 classes to attend which I will share with you all on a weekly basis. Don’t hesitate to leave your thoughts and ideas. I am happy to answer any questions you may have and start discussion boards too. Please note that I can only offer opinion as I am no expert and I sway between being an optimist and pessimist…

Leave a Reply

